Latest updates »
 NEC Releases Final List of Candidates for the Grand Cape Mount Count Senatorial By-election September 10th, 2019

NEC Press Release/September 10, 2019

NEC Releases Final List of Candidates for the Grand Cape Mount  Count Senatorial By-election

The National Elections Commission (NEC) has accepted seven candidates to participate in the senatorial By-election in Grand Cape Mount County.

The seven candidates include two females and one independent.

The candidates are: Mathew Darblo of the Vision for Liberia Transformation (VOLT), Kula Fofana of the Coalition for Liberia’s Progress (CLP), Daoda Metzger, an independent candidate, Simeon Taylor of the Alternative National Congress (ANC), Dabah Varplah of the Unity Party, Victor Watson of the People’s Unification Party (PUP), and Sando Wayne of the Untied People’s Party (UPP).

The Grand Cape Mount By-election comes as a result of the death of Senator Edward Dagoseh who died recently. The By-election is scheduled for Saturday October 5, 2019.

In their acceptance letters, the Commission notified the candidates of their rights and responsibilities under Liberian Law, specifically the Constitution; the New Elections Law, as amended; the Campaign Finance Regulations; and the Campaign Regulations. The Candidates are also reminded to abide by the Code of Conduct for Political Parties and Independent Candidates.

Meanwhile, the Commission has officially declared the campaign the By-election open. The campaign will officially close on October 3, 2019 at 11:59pm.

The NEC is calling on all parties and candidates to present an official campaign schedule for smooth conduct of the campaign. NEC also warns parties, candidates, and supporters against violence throughout the entire campaign period.

Signed ________________

Henry Flomo

Director of Communications

National Elections Commission (NEC)


Click to download
Final_List_Of_Candidates_Grand_CapeMount_Senatorial_By_Election_20190910.png - 144kb

Election Calendar
+ See Videos list

Call Director for Communications:

+231 777558685

+231 886558685


Copyright © 2005 -2020 National Elections Commission - Liberia
Hosted by:   Powered by: