Latest updates »
 NEC-IFES Conclude Third Phase of Regional Media Training on Voter Roll Update and 2014 Special Senatorial Election November 11th, 2013

The National Elections Commission (NEC) in collaboration with the International Foundation for Electoral Systems (IFES) has concluded the conduct of the third in a string of Regional Media Workshops for journalists on the  January 13 to March 5, 2014 Voter Roll Update Exercise and the  October 14, 2014 Special Senatorial Election. 


The two-day workshop, held in the Provincial City of Robertsport, Grand Cape Mount County, was attended by 26 journalists from community Radio Stations in Bomi, Grand Cape Mount and Gbapolu Counties.

Topics discussed at the workshop include the Legal Basis for the Voter Roll Update exercise and the Special Senatorial Election, Overview of the Voter Roll Update Exercise, Eligibility Criteria for Participation in the Voter Roll Update Exercise and the Role of the Media in the Voter Roll Update Exercise and the Special Senatorial Election and the Role of Stakeholders in the Voter Role Update Execise and the 2014 Special senatorial Election, among others.

Facilitators of the workshop included the Deputy Executive Director for Programs of the NEC, Attorney Nathan P. Garbie, the Director of Communications of NEC, Joey Kennedy, Civic/Voter Education Officer, Paul Wreh-Wilson and Program Associate, Moses Clark, of the International Foundation for Electoral Systems (IFES).

Participating journalists were drawn from Radio Piso, Radio Salam, Radio Gbapolu, Radio Mawopnet, Radio Bomi, Radio Kpo, Radio Kpongba and Radio Human Rights, among others.

The fourth and final phase of the Regional Media Training on the forthcoming Voter Roll Update exercise and the 2014 Special Senatorial Election will be held in Buchanan, Grand Bassa County on November 15 and 16.

The first phase of the Regional Media Workshop was held in Zwedru, Grand Gedeh County on October 25 and 26 and brought together 35 journalists from Maryland, Sinoe, River Gee, Grand Gedeh and Grand Kru Counties.

Participating Community Radio stations at the Zwedru Workshop include Voice of Pleebo, Voice of Grand Kru, Voice of Sinoe, Voice of Webbo, Smile FM, Radio Barrobo and Radio Gee.

Others are Radio Harper, Voice of Sasstown, Voice of Konobo, Peace Radio and correspondents from the Liberia Broadcasting System and UNMIL Radio.

The second phase of the workshop was held on November 1 and 2 in the Provincial City of Gbarnga, Bong County and was attended by forty journalists from 29 community Radio Stations in Bong, Lofa, Nimba and Margibi Counties.

Participating journalists were drawn from Radio Gbarnga, Radio Salala, Radio Gbartala, Radio Nimba, Radio Sehnwai, Voice of Karnplay, Radio Saclepea, Radio Tappita, Radio Kintorma, Radio Tamba Taikor, Radio Saboyea, Radio Jorwai, Radio Kergheamahn, Super Bongese, Voice of Gompa, Peace FM, Stone FM, Cuthington University Radio and Vahamu Community Radio.

Others are Voice of Tappita, Radio Joy Africa, Radio Life, Radio Saclepea, Radio Totota, radio Kakata, Radio Harleyike, Radio Meinpea, Radio Kwageh, Radio Zota, Sawu FM, Vahun Radio, Atlantic Radio, Gbaisue radio, Radio Jorwah and radio Bong Mines.


Election Calendar
+ See Videos list

Call Director for Communications:

+231 777558685

+231 886558685


Copyright © 2005 -2019 National Elections Commission - Liberia
Hosted by:   Powered by: